Charlotte Carving Get Together ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nelsone

New User
Ed
As much as I wanted to head to the mountains, I don't think I'll be able to.

I think the 25th will work over at Pete's.

rcflyer23

Kevin
Corporate Member
All you need for the coasters is a chip carving knife.
Wayne Barton's are a favorite.
http://www.fandfwoodcarving.com/chip.htm
I have the flexcut which is good but I'd like a little more angle on the blade.

pete

Oh I am so all over that. I will read through the article between now and then. What kind of wood would you use basswood? I think these are going to actually end up being put together as a wall hanging.

Kevin

CarvedTones

Board of Directors, Vice President
Andy
Someone asked about chip knives (buried in there somewhere; saw it in email)...

I got the Pfiel 2 piece "set" and I am pleased with it. I am not good at it yet, but the knife is not the problem. :)

nelsone

New User
Ed
Oh I am so all over that. I will read through the article between now and then. What kind of wood would you use basswood? I think these are going to actually end up being put together as a wall hanging.

Kevin

If they are not going to be used as actual coasters, I would go with basswood, white pine, or aspen (which I actually found at Lowes on S. Tryon!) You can get the Pheil knives at Woodcraft if you don't want to wait on shipping. I have them, but haven't tried anything with them yet so I can't give any opinion on them.

rcflyer23

Kevin
Corporate Member
If they are not going to be used as actual coasters, I would go with basswood, white pine, or aspen (which I actually found at Lowes on S. Tryon!) You can get the Pheil knives at Woodcraft if you don't want to wait on shipping. I have them, but haven't tried anything with them yet so I can't give any opinion on them.