Black Cherry from Randy(The Woodbutcher)

Status
Not open for further replies.

rcflyer23

Kevin
Corporate Member
Randy again it was great to meet you.

I took some of the Black Cherry tonight and decided to turn a honey dipper with it. This is only the second one I have done. The wood smells great as your turning it.

Here is a picture of the dipper. I don't care for it to much I should have made more of a buldge in it.

IMG_1130.jpg

TracyP

Administrator , Forum Moderator
Tracy
I think it looks great. You are really getting this turning thing down to a science. I need to take lessons from you!!

Rod

New User
Rod
Looks great to me. I just got a black cherry tree with a few burls in it. I am in the process of turning one of the crotches/limbs into a cane. I've never done one before. Cherry definitely smells good when you are working it.

rcflyer23

Kevin
Corporate Member
Rod

You have to show some pics when you get it done. The shop smelled good after turning it. Hey I just saw you are in Valle Crucis. I am jealous. My wife and I want to end up there one of these days.

rcflyer23

Kevin
Corporate Member
I will end up finishing it with Mineral Oil. My understanding is that most all finishes are safe once they are cured but I know mineral oil is. I just need to go get some. :) That piece is unfinished... Once I get some mineral oil I will try and remember to post a pic of it finished. I also didn't sand this very much, well I sanded it alot but ony with 120. Normally I will sand those to at least 400-600. I am going to do another one this weekend and I will sand it up to 600 and post so you can see the difference.

JackLeg

New User
Reggie
Kevin: What's not to like?? Looks good, pard. For something "round" that is!!

Keep on keeping on!

rcflyer23

Kevin
Corporate Member
Thanks Reggie. It is starting to warm up to me. I like the wood alot.

Don't worry I don't do all round stuff. :) I have a flat project coming up soon. Just letting the wood get used to my shop.