Newbie Here - Question About Hangers for Ledge Shelves I'm Building

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blackbeered

New User
Blackbeered
Read through the archives and see where this issue raised but never fully answered.

My shelves [painted solid poplar] will be 1.5" thick, 6.5" deep, and up to 102" long ... a maximum weight of 15 lbs each before another 15 lbs maximum will be displayed atop.

The ideal hardware would be 1.25" diam round keyhole hangers, the pockets for which would be done w Forstner. But can't find them.

Alternatively, upright keyholes on a horizontal strap would work ... as a member asked many years ago ... he couldn't find them then and neither can I now.

I want them to "suck up" to the wall, so "proud" hangers are out.

I could rout the keyholes in the wood, but I think there would be too great a risk of them blowing out [plus be a lot of work].

Is my only recourse to make them from strap stock and a Dremel?

Canuck

Wayne
Corporate Member
These "Z-Clips" from Rockler may do the trick.

http://www.rockler.com/2-z-clips

I have used them in the past to hang 24" wide cabinets in my daughters laundry room and there hasn't been a problem.

Wayne

BTW. Welcome to best, most helpful and friendly woodworking site on the WWW!

CrealBilly

New User
Jeff
I have in the past used thin wood with matching 45 degree angles. One board gets screwed to the wall 45 up and the other to the back of the shelf 45 down. Then it's just a matter of leveling the wall board and slipping the shelf over top of the wall board. The matching 45's keep the shelf tight against the wall and prevent it from falling down. There is nothing to secure it from bumps sideways or up though and of course only as good as they are made. Just an idea for you to consider... the z-clips Wayne pointed you at are perhaps a better solution for you.

Blackbeered

New User
Blackbeered
Thanks, Canuck, for the quick response.