New User - Denver, NC

Status
Not open for further replies.

petebucy4638

Pete
Corporate Member
Pete from Denver -- NC that is...

Some forums request an introduction. I don't know if this one does not or not, but here goes. My name is Pete Bucy. I live in Denver, NC, which is about 35 miles NW of Charlotte on Lake Norman. I'm a home builder by trade. I have done woodworking in my garage for about as long as I can remember. With the economy being what it is, I have had some extra time to tear into a few home renovation projects, some of which include finishing the wood shop and building a few cabinets.

I just ordered a new cabinet saw from Grizzly this week and I'm in the market for a new planer. I have been torn between a good lunchbox planer like the Makita or getting a full sized machine, probably from Grizzly.

Pete

petebucy4638

Pete
Corporate Member
I'm off to a good start. I posted my introduction in the wrong forum. Well, here goes again.

I'm a home builder and I have a shop in my garage. A lot of the woodworking that I have done over the years has been focused on various custom things that were needed for the homes that I build that I could not get readily done through my subcontractors. These have mostly been built-in's fireplace surrounds, tub surrounds, and the like.

I just ordered a new cabinet saw from Grizzly this week and I'm in the market for a new planer. I'll be replacing a Grizzly contractors table saw that was a bit too heavy to take to a job site and a portable Jet planer. I either want to get a lighter portable planer like the one that Makita sells or one of Grizzly's 15" models.

I live in Denver, NC which is about 35 miles NW of Charlotte on Lake Norman.

Pete

ScottM

Scott
Staff member
Corporate Member
Welcome Pete to our virtual family. We LOVE pictures so please post some samples of you work.

ScottM

Scott
Staff member
Corporate Member
Re: Pete from Denver -- NC that is...

Welcome to the friendliest and best WW site on the web.

M