New to this site but not to woodworking..

Status
Not open for further replies.

precista46

New User
Rich
I just joined this site this morning and before doing that I read as many posts as I could...it may be that I have a terrific interest in this particular sort of work and found the enthusiasm a bit contagious, but it really seems to be a friendly group that shows assistance rather than competition as many other group sites seem to pose...

Anyway...I have been carving and woodworking for more than 40 years and about 20 years ago I quit my day job to do freelance design and carving...went into the Craft Fair circuit for 4 years and made decoys, weathervanes, folk art replicas and gold leaf signs...somehow managed to earn enough to live decently but had to eventually go back to work for the same company I quit to do my own thing!!...but at my rules...!!!!!!

I finally left that business to move from New York and wound up here in Winston-Salem for the past 14 years and will retire in May...that's when I will be doing the carving in earnest as well as making Scandinavian styled fixed blade knives...always looking for outlets to show or sell my work and have contributed heavily to Habitat For Humanity for their annual Bird Fest auctions since 1995..a wonderful group to help out and I have been fortunate enough to be awarded Best of Show 5 of the past 13 years....these pieces have been therapy for my day job...

Now back to the search for cedar and soft pine logs for those decoys!!!!
Nice to be here..
Rich Andrews

Added some shots of my Habitat carvings into the photo section under precista46

Last edited:

ptt49er

Phillip
Corporate Member
Welcome Rich!!

As I'm sure you know, there are more than a few good carvers in our ranks.

Please post some pics of your work and enjoy the sawdust pile, it is the best on the web!

Douglas Robinson

Doug Robinson
Corporate Member
Welcome Rich: