How deep do you cut dados in 3/4 plywood

Status
Not open for further replies.

Travis

New User
Travis
I am just about ready to start my first cabinet/built-in project. :eusa_clap I plan to use dados and was wondering how deep you cut them in 3/4 shop grade red oak. I ran some test samples with 3/16, 1/4 and 3/8 and the 1/4 looks good but I have no experience to help base my decision.

PS.

Have digital camera and will start publishing pictures of the project as I progress for constructive criticism.

J

jeff...

I would think 1/2 the thickness of the material used or 3/8" in this case. But not so tight that there is no room for glue either.

Monty

New User
Monty
1/4", 3/8" - I don't think it matters much, just pick something that makes the math easy! ;-)

tom hintz

New User
Tom Hintz
I generally cut dados 1/3 the thickness of the piece they are being cut into.
However, another way to do it that comes in handy if you have to figure the length of the cross pieces (like shelves) is to cut the dados so 1/2" of material thickness remains. That way your cross pieces are an even 1" less than the width of the assembled unit.

Ray Martin

New User
Ray
I would tend to agree with the idea of making the math easy. One of my favorite mistakes is to add the depth of one of the dados to the width of the shelf :oops: (yeah, it should be two times that depth since there is a dado on both ends of the shelf :confused3:5duh:). I would also suggest that you draw the project up with all the math on the drawing. That helps catch the mistakes that I'm so fond of making.

In building codes, there are limits to how much material can be cut out of a supporting member like a floor joist or a wall stud. The idea is to maintain structural integrity. I'm not sure where the rules for furniture making are but I tend to think you should leave at least half the thickness of the material that gets the dado. In other words, if you plow a dado in 1/2" stock, the dado should not be deeper than 1/4".