Hey everyone, glad I found the site

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charlottend

New User
Brian
My name's Brian. I've always been interested in woodworking, although I've never done any myself. I figured it would be a good hobby in retirement. However, I just recently had my first child and realized that it could be a great thing to learn now so that I can build a few toys, window seats, shelves etc.

I have no experience or know-how, except for what I've read the last month or so on a few different woodworking sites.

As far as equipment goes, I have a few odds and ends, but mostly cheap homeowner tools (circular saw, drill/bits, hole saws). I'm limited on space so I can't set up a shop by any means (that will have to wait for retirement unless I'm lucky). Right now I'm scouring CL looking for deals on a good table saw in the Charlotte area. If you know of any, feel free to point them out to me.

Glad that there's an NC dedicated site out there. Can't wait to be a sponge and learn from everyone here.

Brian

M

McRabbet

Glad you've found our virtual sawdust pile, Brian -- we're happy to have you here. Don't worry about having just some basic tools -- we all started there, too. We'll be happy to share ideas, sources and techniques as you progress into some projects. We're a friendly bunch, so don't hesitate to ask for help -- the only stupid questions are the ones you don't ask -- Ask and you'll get answers from this group. Again, welcome and jump right in!

froglips

New User
Jim Campbell
Greetings! Don't worry, most folks think they can start out small.

Soon, they are selling their houses so they can move to a better shop :)

Ask any questions, folks here will gladly offer up opinions and offer guidence.

Jim

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Welcome Brian, I am glad you can join us. Remember the only stupid question is the one that is not asked...so sponge on and benefit from this wealth of local folks that are always willing to help.