help improve dual drum sander

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stuart Kent

Stuart
Senior User
Hi all,

I have a 26" Steel City Dual drum sander; I have struggled to keep paper on it since the day I bought it. It really is a good machine when it works and I'd like to find a way to make it work reliably. I've tried tape. I've tried adjusting the clips (they are simply junk). The machine is aligned properly and sands flat and parallel to the feed surface, with no snipe. I do not use it as a planer - in fact I usually make 1/8th turn adjustments per pass, and I always scrape glue or run stock through a planer prior to using this machine so none of that is the culprit. Mine is a problem of poor engineering plain and simple, and there must be a fix.

The web is full of yays and nays about hook and loop conversion, which I have no experience with. One major problem I have found with that conversion is that it apparently requires tape to secure the ends of the rolls - meaning less maximum sanding width = not a solution for me. I'm also not enthused about putting another $200 clams into this machine - it was expensive enough. I am convinced that I'm missing something and that an inexpensive, simple fix is eluding me. I keep returning to the idea of improving the clips with something but...

at $65/box for three wraps I'm tired of wasting time and money. Help please!

thanks in advance,
Stuart.

Stuart Kent

Stuart
Senior User