Search results

1. JRD

Walnut and White Oak Vase 2019-04-16

2012 Calendar Entry
  2. JRD

Best Glue for Cutting Boards

I've been able to get a hold of some outstanding Maple boards that I'd like to use to whip up some last minute cutting boards as presents. Considering a cutting board may be subject to water and moisture, what glues have you used? I'm thinking along the lines of Titebond 3. Thanks, Jim
  3. JRD

Too Small?

I'm looking for any and all tips to help in the installation of a new band saw tire. The top tire on my Delta 145 inch saw needs replacement, so I purchased one from Poly Belt but it sure looks mighty small. I realise it needs to be put into near boiling water to aid in installation, but how...
  4. JRD

Why not come to the picnic

Sorry, It's an event that in the past I lived for. Now that I work in retail, weekends no longer exist.
  5. JRD

Latest Turning

Stunning......I am in awe!
  6. JRD

For Larger Minds than Mine

Just started wondering and no one I've asked in conversation has been able to provide a good answer. Thus, I toss it out to larger minds than mine. Why are treated 4x4's that off green color, when treated decking boards are not? I assume the same non-arsenic based treatment is used, or if not...
  7. JRD

How to save this bowl blank?

In the past, I've used old coffee grounds and CA as a filler. It leaves a natural looking, dark line in the crack.
  8. JRD

Hints for Bar Top - Epoxy Resin Finish

I've used these epoxy finishes for another use, as a waterproof liner inside turned vases and also on the tops of several boxes. The one big thing I can contribute is to make sure you can keep dust off the project during the cure time. Cure generally takes a day or two and there is nothing...
  9. JRD

Dish vs Cable opines