trying to learn to carve with a knife

Status
Not open for further replies.

CarvedTones

Board of Directors, Vice President
Andy
This is rather embarrassing to admit, :embaresse but as much as I like to carve and aspire to make that the cornerstone of what I do in the shop, I am not very good with a knife. I can shape big stuff like instrument necks with power or a spokeshave or a draw knife (doesn't count :) ). I can shape smaller stuff for intarsia and segmentation projects using power. I can hollow with an adze or power and clean it up with gouges or power. I can do a reasonably good job on shallow relief carvings with my palm set and I am getting there with the mallet tools. Then there is the knife. I can cut strings to length and open packages with the best of 'em. :roll: I do have a "bench knife" that is a single bevel thick blade chip knife that I use to clean things up and I use and Exacto to cut veneer to various shapes, but that isn't carving.

So I have decided to address that deficiency. I chose a couple of things out of the most recent Wood Carving Illustrated magazine - a face that you cut on a board corner primarily using triangles and some chip patterns. I started out with the chip knife but found it isn't a good choice for general carving due to the thick blade and steep bevel; it tends to tear into the wood. I got a good pocket knife that has a coping blade and have had better luck with it:

BU-375BRW.jpg

My photos are pretty bad, but I will start with a closeup of a face I did. This is actually zoomed in - the actual carving is less than 3" high. It is not finished; this is just where I stopped:

ugly-mug-1.jpg

The right side ("his" left) came out OK and the overall shape is OK, but I really butchered the left side. It looks OK from further away, but I am looking for advice, not praise, so I took a close up to expose its many flaws.

I also tried a little chip carving with mixed results:

knot_chips.jpg