The influence of the Dark Side.....

Status
Not open for further replies.

DaveO

New User
DaveO
It forced me to turn this 12/4 hunk of air dried Walnut into something with a bowl like shape -

Copy_of_Malibu_and_the_Dark_Side_007.jpg

Copy_of_Malibu_and_the_Dark_Side_014.jpg

I was really happy with it until I realized that my macro level pics showed off all the torn end grain, and the wax I applied just enhanced that.
But none the less it is the biggest bowl (diameter wise)I have turned on the HF lathe that could. About 10½" diameter, 4" tall and the walls are ¼' thick. It's a gift to a friend that gave me the wood several years ago. I think it will make a nice fruit bowl, as long as he doesn't have a thing for Grapefruits or larger Melons :roll:

Thanks for lookin' and any advice on the end grain tear out (prevention-wise) would be highly appreciated.

Dave:)

RandyJ

Randy
Corporate Member
Nice looking bowl, Dave. Being a beginner I can't offer any advice on the end grain. We are our own worst critics...just stop telling everyone and no one will notice!!

ScottM

Scott
Staff member
Corporate Member
DaveO, like Randy said we are our own worst critic. I think it looks great and your friend will be very happy to receive such a wonderful gift.

J

jeff...

Dave you need to stop it - man is that pretty - your end grain tear out second picture far side looks a bit like Mrs Buttersworth.

woodArtz

New User
Bob
Nice looking bowl DaveO! :icon_thum Walnut is a pain when it comes to end grain. I try to get it with a very sharp gouge or scraper. If all else fails... I use the 60 grit gouge :wink_smil. The Milwaukee power sander has changed my life :gar-Bi.

nelsone

New User
Ed
Great looking bowl Dave! You are a much better turner than I, so I can't help with the tear out question.

TracyP

Administrator , Forum Moderator
Tracy
Dave, you had to put the plug in there about the HF lathe:swoon:
A clever ploy to lure me even deeper.:gar-La;