Router bit advice.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mxracer

New User
Dan
Need some input on router bits please. I am new to woodworking and just picked up my first router. Now I need to get some bits. (sad I know but I'm a wood newbie) :dontknow: So I have a few questions.

1. Are there "essential" bits that everyone should have? I only know a couple like a round-over bit and straight bit but not sure about others that are used a lot.
2. Is it better to buy them piece mill, or in a set.
3. Is a set like this worth a crap or just junk?
http://cgi.ebay.com/66-Bits-Router-...in_0?hash=item33548998d2&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14
4. The router I bought is a Freud FT2000E with a 1/2" collet, should I just buy 1/2" shank bits and stick with them or use the 1/4" collet and buy those bits?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Dan

Canuck

Wayne
Corporate Member
Dan.

There will probably be plenty of opinions here, but I would suggest trying out a smaller set from MLCS like one of these sets (they do carry larger sets too)....

http://www.mlcswoodworking.com/shopsite_sc/store/html/smarthtml/pages/set15piece.html

I would try and go with the bits with a 1/2" shank for the strength and stability. The only time I would suggest 1/4" shanks is if you have a small trim router like a Bosch Colt or similar router that you use frequently. This is where I finally got to use some some 1/4" multi profile bits that I first purchased. (BTW ...MLCS do not charge for shipping and no sales taxes and they are pretty decent bits.:wsmile:) Whatever company you choose, make sure that the bits have carbide cutters at least!

You will probably find that you will use specific bits frequently iie straight cutting bits, spiral bits, roundovers and rabbeting bits. As you find your usage of certain bits increases; then invest in a higher quality bit like Katana, Freud, CMT or Whitesides for the longer term.