My FIRST segmented piece

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave Peterson

New User
Dave
OK, I am a rookie at segmented turning, and in fact, I just finished my first one. Not a traditional segmented piece with stacks of horizontal rows, but still segmented. The blank started as 2X2X4" piece. Opposite sides of figural cherry and figural white oak, separated by a thin veneer strip of black walnut.

AMPHORAblank.JPG

After turning, this shows two different views. There is NO finish on it right now. It is just the wood, sanded to 2000 grit. Height is 3". The center hole was drilled with a 7/8" Forsner bit, then beveled for the top rim as thin as I dared to go. It is the size of a toothpick holder, but could also be used as a small posey vase with some small silk or straw flowers in it, like little Lilies of the Valley blooms.

Dave Peterson

AMPHORA3inch.JPG

cskipper

Cathy
Very nicely done! I really like the dark contrast pieces - they do a great job in accenting the different woods.

T

toolferone

Cool, I really like it. I had no idea as to size until you told us.

eyekode

New User
Salem
That turned out nice! No tear out on all that nasty (beautiful) grain. I would 't have guessed the size either.
Salem

Bill Clemmons

Bill
Corporate Member
Nice job, Dave, but I'm a little worried about you. You've now placed one foot over the edge of a very slippery slope, w/ no bottom in sight. Some day you'll be posting pics of gigantic vases and telling us how many thousands of pieces are in it. GO BACK, DAVE, GO BACK, before it's too late. :rotflm:

Seriously, very nice work. I might even be inspired to something like that.

Bill

Dave Peterson

New User
Dave
Nice job, Dave, but I'm a little worried about you. You've now placed one foot over the edge of a very slippery slope, w/ no bottom in sight. Some day you'll be posting pics of gigantic vases and telling us how many thousands of pieces are in it. GO BACK, DAVE, GO BACK, before it's too late. :rotflm: