I want to learn bowl turning

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jonz

New User
Chris Jones
My first few attempts were slightly disastrous, and a little violent. :lol:

I do chisel handles and basic spindle stuff from time to time but could use some pointers with the bowl thing, starting right at the beginning from wood types and sources, grain orientation right on up from there.

I have a HF lathe, a grizzly chuck, and basic chisels.

What is the best way to learn bowl turning basics? Videos? Online?

woodArtz

New User
Bob
I learned by turning perfectly good blanks into piles of worthless shavings. I kept at it until I started making something that ended up round and somewhat hollow in the middle ;-). Since then I've watched a few videos, taken some classes, and worked over more blocks of wood. I'm no expert, but I'd be happy to help out if I can.

One of my favorite videos was made by Steven Russell you can find his stuff here: http://www.woodturningvideosplus.com/

Coulpens

New User
Ron
Instruction by a real live person is best IMO.

Woodcraft classes are fair to great depending on the individual instructor.

Schools like John C. Campbell & Arrowmont can advance skills very rapidly.

Check these out & don't pass up offers of help from members.

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Chris, you are welcome to come over any time and I will show you what I know. I find that I learn best with a one-on-one teaching. Also I have the same set-up as you so you will get a good feel for what is possible.
Dave:)

JRD

New User
Jim
I'd be willing to help you in any way I can, however my work schedule with times and days off is extremely erratic. If I can, I'll help.

I'd also recommend the basic classes at NCSU's Crafts Center. I took a basic class there and walked away with a lot of knowledge that got me started. Their woodworking classes are excellent and their shop has everything you'd ever need.

Jim

Last edited:

edspec

New User
steve