Hello All

Status
Not open for further replies.

dstrbd488

New User
Chris
My name is Chris and I live in Charlotte NC. I am a project inspector for a civil engeering company based out of Columbia SC. I am really new to wood working and for the most part like to spin square wood really fast and make it round. I have to admitt that there is deffently a learning curve to it but I enjoy messing up almost as much as getting something right other than the fact that when I mess up I just lost one of my much needed pieces of wood. I have been lurking on here for a while posting a little something here and there, and I have really enjoyed learning from what I have read from you guys.

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Welcome Chris, I am glad you finally came out of the shadows. Lurking can be fun, but jumping in with both feet is much more fun. I too am a big fan of the "Darkside" and one of the reasons is the wood is very often free. So you don't have to worry about messing up a piece, at least financially, your pride will still sting a little. I look forward to your continued input in the forums and hopefully seeing some pictures of your work...successful or not (there is always a learning experience in a mistake)

Dave:)

cptully

New User
Chris
Chris,

Welcome to the dust pile! Goofs can be useful.... I've built more than one project from things others discarded.

Chris

jhreed

james
Corporate Member
Re: Hello All jhreed

My very dear grandfather had an old rockwell lathe. He was a very wise man and he told me, taking wood (yard droppings or whatever he could find) and turning it into shavings was the most therapeutic endeavor he had ever found.
James

i am beginning ( at a late age) to make sawdust and shavings. I wish i had learned this lesson earlier.

Who needs a psychiatrist?

BobcatBob

New User
Bob
Hi Chris,