Crepe Myrtyle Carving Mallet

Status
Not open for further replies.

manfre

New User
Manfre
2011-04-21_22-39-26_349.jpg

My brother is interested in carving and wanted a mallet. This is my first attempt, made from a crepe myrtle tree that was cut down a few hours before putting it on the lathe. This was my first time turning green wood and it was fun! The mallet is already starting to crack in one spot on the head. For the next attempt, I'm going to rough it down to about 1/2" wider than final dimension and let it sit for "a while". Any suggestions on how long I'd need to let a 4" diameter piece of crepe myrtle sit before I can finish it?

The mallet weighs 19 oz, 10.5" long and is burnished with beeswax. I was hoping the beeswax would help keep it from splitting while providing a better grip to keep the mallet from slipping out of hand. The handle has a very slight bulge between where the first and second fingers will hold it and then a very gradual taper toward the end. The head is tapered (~5 degrees) to make it easier on the wrist when striking.

I'm not a carver. I made this based upon mallets I've seen for sale, so any construction criticism would be greatly appreciated.

Gunslinger

New User
Mike
Good looking mallet and should work well.
The general "rule of thumb" for wood to dry is one year for each inch of thickness, so it may need to sit for quite a while. If you just cut it, it probably had the sap rising and is about as full of water as can be.

manfre

New User
Manfre
Good looking mallet and should work well.
The general "rule of thumb" for wood to dry is one year for each inch of thickness, so it may need to sit for quite a while. If you just cut it, it probably had the sap rising and is about as full of water as can be.
I don't have the patience or storage space to wait that long. I think I'll try microwave drying the next one. Good thing I never got around to selling the spare microwave.

CarvedTones

Board of Directors, Vice President
Andy