Search results

1. F

How to finish an "odd" table top

I was actually thinking of not making the top level, but idk yet. The bar-top coating is a good idea, but i'm not a fan of the plasticky look and would like to avoid it on this project. As far as adhering to other finishes, is shellac a good bet? I'm a novice in this department, i usually...
  2. F

How to finish an "odd" table top

I'm eventually going to start a fun coffee table project which uses old yardsticks as the table top. These yardsticks are mostly vintage; some have a finish on them already (who knows what...) while others were left natural. How would you recommend finishing something like this? I was...
  3. F

Completed table/thanks for the help!

I LOVE that tabletop...hope you're proud of it :eusa_clap
  4. F

My first year making Christmas gifts

I finally had the confidence/skill/shop space/time to build gifts for my family this year, so i stuck with the classics (sorry for the crappy cell phone pics): This was my first attempt at a cutting board and a small box, and i must say i was quite happy with the results.
  5. Keepsake Box

Keepsake Box

2011 Christmas gift: walnut with quilted maple top
  6. Bubinga picture frame

Bubinga picture frame

2011 Christmas gift
  7. Cutting board

Cutting board

2011 Christmas gift: walnut and cherry butcher block
  8. F

Looking for 3/4" Pipe

Rockler sells zinc-plated pipe for pipe clamp use, which i'd assume doesn't slip like galvanized...but I've never used it.
  9. F

Smart Phone Use

Board-foot calculator is a handy app as well, and free! :banana:
  10. F

Using 2 bench screws to make a vise

I guess I'm in need of more clarification here. None of the handwheels I've found are threaded, but i figured i could just pin the threaded rod to the handwheel to solve that. What about attaching the wheels to the chop? I haven't found a good way to do that. Could a machine shop carve a...
  11. F