Total hacker

Status
Not open for further replies.

Toddler

New User
Todd
Hi All,

I signed up a couple of weeks ago but haven't had time to post. I am a complete beginner, and won't have room for a real wood shop until we build our next home in 3 years.

The only things I've made have been a couple of rough cabinets for the tube amplifiers I built. One for myself and one for each of my kids. I also made cabinets for the speaker, but Tolex covers a lot of bad craftmanship on those!

Now I'm going to be building my son a small neck through the body electric guitar, based on a 17" fret scale. You may laugh at my ignorance, and please tell me my error if there is one, but I ordered 6/4 Paduak, and 4/4 bubinga boards, quartersawn. I'm hoping to resaw them to 3/4 and 2/4, and then laminate them to make a neck blank. Actually, 3 neck blanks, just in case I kill one, and then to try a second guitar if the first works out. I figure it will be P-B-P-B-P or B-P-B-P-B. Which ever gets me closer to 2 1/2 " wide.

I pestered the guys at the Duke shop for help a couple of years ago. But since resawing three 5 foot boards seems a bit much, my first big purchase may be a bandsaw. I almost bought a jointer from someone here but I was too slow :). I figure if I buy a bandsaw, I won't feel nearly as bad asking the shop guys for help plaining down the boards. They gave me good advice and were really helpful last time I bugged them. Course, they're real craftmen, I'm a dabbler.

Anyway, wish me luck on not destroying a lot of pretty nice wood. Luckily most of the shaping will be with a spokeshave or microplane, so at least it'll be a slow destruction if there is one.

And if anyone knows, I'm curious if there any places where you can take classes on woodcraft near Hillsborough NC? I tried Google, but didn't find any courses. I did find this site and I think I'll learn a lot reading through old posts.

Regards,

Todd

NZAPP1

New User
Nick
Re: A total hacker

Welcome Todd