Yet Another Newbie...

Status
Not open for further replies.

sediener

New User
Steve
Hi. I am just getting started in woodworking and after a few projects to learn the ropes am getting ready to start on my first child's crib, wardrobe and changing table. I live south of Raleigh and work at NCSU in genomic research. I figured I would get rid of that annoying banner at the top of the page and post a hello to everyone.

- Steve

tom hintz

New User
Tom Hintz
Steve,
Welcome to the forum. You found a good one with lots of great people and tons of experience to draw from. Your part in all of this is to ask the questions you have!
Congrats on the first child also!
One word of caution on building a crib, there are legal requirements for spacing the rungs for safety so you want to be sure about that before starting, especially if you are not using a good-quality plan. I wish I knew that spacing but don't. Read on as I suspect someone else around here does or can point you to where to get that spec.

Have fun but be safe first!

MikeH

New User
Mike
Welcome to NCWW Steve. We're glad to have you and look forward to seeing progress pics on the crib and congrats on your first child.

woodArtz

New User
Bob
Welcome to the site Steve. There's a wealth of knowledge and experience to be found here. And best of all it comes from some great folks. I'm relatively new here, but have already learned a lot and met some very nice people.

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Welcome Steve, congrats on your impending Fatherhood, it's a great excuse to make thing in the shop. My wife works in the Animal Science Dept at State doing genomic research, maybe y'all have crossed paths.
I look forward to your input in the forums, and hopefully seeing some pics of your project for your child...do you know what he/she will be???

Dave:)

Rocker

New User
John
Welcome Steve,