too much fresh poplar (or maybe not)

Status
Not open for further replies.

CarvedTones

Board of Directors, Vice President
Andy
EDIT - I posted another thread after a day or two because it started to become evident that the "sweetgum" might actually be sweetgum after all. It isn't as dark as I expected though. Anyway, closing this thread as it seems I don't have a massive amount of poplar after all.

I am lousy scrounger; twice recently I have picked up some poplar when I thought I was getting something else. Once was sweetgum; when the fresh cut the rounds had the dramatically darker center I felt certain I was getting wood out of the right pile. But when I split a couple yesterday, it became obvious it is poplar. I also recently stopped where someone had mystery wood and - you guessed it - poplar. Anyway, I went ahead and split (carefully with wedges) and debarked some and coated the ends. I figured I would use it while I am still learning to turn woodwinds even though it isn't a prime choice for that and make a few carving blanks. But a little goes a long way.

Anyway, I have a few that I am willing to share. They are split pieces ranging about 1' to 2' in length, about 8" to 12" at the thickest, debarked and the ends are sealed. I also have a couple of bark on rounds (would take 5 minutes to debark) about 2' in diameter with the ends sealed. If you have the cutting capacity, there are nice big bowl blanks without a lot of additional effort required.

I am in Cary.

Trent Mason

New User
Trent Mason
Re: too much fresh poplar

That's a generous offer Andy. But you've already given me all the poplar logs I can fit in my shop. :rotflm::rotflm::rotflm:

CarvedTones

Andy