The last cut and bang!

Status
Not open for further replies.

BillPappas

New User
Bill
I was taking a final light trim cut on the inside of the bowl to just smooth it out before sanding and it went bang! I know I did not cut through the side and the tool was not removing much wood. I was using a Ci0 Easy Finisher when this happened and I did not feel it catch. Any thoughts on what would cause this? This particular bowl blank did fly off the lathe one time a few weeks ago when my son was visiting and wanted to try turning...since I am a newbie at this it was the blind leading the blind. I did not make a very good lip for the chuck and he had a minor catch while removing material and the bowl flew off and bounced around. Luckily neither of these incidents caused and bodily injuries:embaresse:embaresse

IMG_0627.jpg

View image in gallery

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member
Bill, I feel your pain. That was one pretty bowl, way too pretty to turn into abstract art like that! I hope you figure out the problem soon. Wood is still an unpredictable substance.

DaveO

New User
DaveO
You made the last cut...never make the last cut :gar-La;:gar-La;
Were you near the rim of the bowl when you took this last cut? I find that sometimes bowl when closed to be finished will get slightly out of round near the rim in response to heat drying or wood movement. That combined with the leverage of making even a light cut near the rim can easily dislodge the bowl from the chuck.
How are you chucking the bowl? I find that chucking with a tenon gives you little mechanical attachment should the wood fibers get crushed. Chucking in a recess, especially a dove-tailed recess gives you that mechanical advantage should the chuck become a little loose.

Dave:)

Mark Stewart

New User
Mark
I feel your pain there has been a lot of this around here this weel Rob me and some one else besides you. Shame that looked beautiful..

Thanks Mark

BillPappas

New User
Bill