Artisan Pirate

Artisan Pirate
Corporate Member
Slimline, Wood Turned Ink Pens
Now, I'm no expert Turner but, I think I did good on these pens. I am primarily a Scroll Saw Artist but, I do dabble on the lathe to mix things up. I 3d printed the pen stand and even laser engraved my name on one of them!
I turned the walnut pen on film if you wanna see it 👇🏻

https://youtu.be/rMnWFJPeD5A #ArtisanPirate

Attachments

• 346483962_6298224740236902_559411857953272084_n.jpg
    346483962_6298224740236902_559411857953272084_n.jpg
    395.7 KB · Views: 140

Vstrom

Don
Corporate Member
Was the pen on a roller or is it small enough to engrave laying flat? As a novice turner, I am looking at adding a laser to my collection. You have also encouraged me to dust off my scrollsaw.

Artisan Pirate

Artisan Pirate
Corporate Member
Was the pen on a roller or is it small enough to engrave laying flat? As a novice turner, I am looking at adding a laser to my collection. You have also encouraged me to dust off my scrollsaw.
I have pictures documenting the process on my instagram page but they are pretty far back. But, I basically took the whole mandrel off the lathe and taped it to the bed of my laser to keep it from rolling and framed out my name and gave it a go.

SabertoothBunny

SabertoothBunny
Corporate Member

I have a small NEJE laser with a jig that hold pen sections for laser engraving and spins then in sync with the laser head. It is a limited machine but typically does what I need without too much issue. So my recommendation is to find what machine you want and see if you can find someone who makes a jig for round objects to turn with the laser. There is probably someone out there who makes it or is willing too.

SabertoothBunny

SabertoothBunny
Corporate Member