questions about white oak and hickory

Status
Not open for further replies.

vbgregg

New User
Gregg
Hi,

Someone I met tonight is selling 200 to 300 bf of white oak and hickory. He said it has already been cut into boards and kiln dried. The boards are 8-10' long, 6-8" wide, and 4/4 to 6/4 thick.

I am relatively new at woodworking. Most everything I have made so far has used red oak. I like red oak, but perhaps I should try some other woods!

What are some of the good (and bad) features of white oak and hickory? I realize that a lot of things may boil down to personal preference, but do most folks consider these to be good looking woods? Are they easy to work with, or at least similar to red oak in that respect? Are there certain things for which white oak or hickory are particularly good (or bad) choices? I hope to make some furniture for our house -- nothing too fancy, but still I'd like to use good wood.

I think he said that these board have been kept in a storage unit. Do I need to worry about insects? Are there other potential problems I should consider with respect to how and where the boards have been housed?

Sorry for the dumb questions, but I don't have a lot of knowledge or confidence about picking out wood. I hate to admit it, but most of the red oak I've used has been purchased at Lowes and has not needed much jointing and planing. I think it's time I started using my jointer and planer! Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks,

Gregg

J

jeff...

Gregg, Both WO and Hickory are harder than RO especially Hickory. Actually 6~8" hickory boards might be ideal to work with since they are hard. Nothing wrong with either wood species as far as workability or being made into furniture. Just as long as they were cut thick enough to suit your purpose after jointing and planing. As far as bugs go, can't help you much there - sorry...

Thanks

DaveO

New User
DaveO