pipe clamps!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vanilla Gorilla

New User
Marco Principio
So, I am looking to invest in a fair number of pipe clamps, but since I have very little experience with them, I figured I would tap the knowledge base!

I don't have a lot of money, so that is certainly an issue. I also do not need clamps that are feature rich. Bare bones are fine. What should I look for/stay away from? Is this something that I should get from harbor freight?

Can I get away with 1/2", or is 3/4" a necessity? I imagine that the length of the pipe matters in that equation, so assume that none of my clamps will be over 60", and very few will be over 4 feet.

How about pipe? I already have a pipe threader, but is there a significant price difference between threaded and non threaded pipe? Where would the cheapest place to get pipe be? Is it worth it to get galvanized or plated pipe to keep from staining my wood?

Sorry for the sheer volume of questions, but I respect the opinion of the people on this site, and I would like to know what you all think about this!!

-Marco

NCPete

New User
Pete Davio
get the galvanized 3/4, wax it. If you have a pipe threader, then it doesn't matter so much what length you get. I will soon be cutting my longer pipes down, and using connectors on them, for the rare occasion that i need to clamp anything that large. 1/2 inch pipe will deflect on you, when you really need to lay some serious clamping pressure on your subject. IIRC, the clamps I have are the Jorgensen Pony's??? Orange, can't remember where I got them from, and they were about $10 or $13 a set?

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member