Newbie Chick in Stedman/Fayetteville

Status
Not open for further replies.

CardinalCyn

New User
Cynthia
Hi, All!

Just found this site last night... don't know how it never came up in any of my woodworking forum searches in the past, but sure glad it did now! I am new to the site and not very good at navigation, but bear with me and maybe I can learn how to do it.

I have been an "official" woodworker (meaning paid for my services) for the past 9 years, but have messed with wood since I was 19... I am considerably older than that now. :) I have been obsessed with all things wooden since I was a kid, and love antiques (thanks, Mom). I own both a custom cabinet shop and a furniture refinishing company which specializes in antiques restoration. I am hoping I can learn something here, maybe help someone who is having a problem I have had to deal with in the past, or just chat about working the wood in general. I have had some experience with refinishing or woodworking sites where some members tend to (I really hope completely unawares) talk down to women about woodworking. I like to think I know a little bit about what I do <smile>. After reading some of the threads, it seems folks here want to interact in positive and supportive ways, and I appreciate that. I work constantly, and love what I do. I don't really know what else to say, but I am happy to read your posts and "hear" you all interact.

Thanks for creating this site and giving people access to learn and grow. Have a great day, All! Cynthia

SGalley

New User
Scott W. Galley
Another fellow Fayettevillian. Glad to have you. Look forward to seeing pics of your work.

Douglas Robinson

Doug Robinson
Corporate Member
Welcome Cynthia. FWIW: We do not tolerate people that "talk down to women about woodworking" or about anything at all. Barbara and Cathy can back me up on that. I am glad to have someobne with your finishing/resotration background join us. There are regularly lots of questions on these subjects.