New to North Carolina

Status
Not open for further replies.

lnelson

New User
Larry
Hello to all,

My name is Larry Nelson and I am a recent transplant from Wisconsin. I have been a woodworker for about 25 years. Woodworking for me is a hobby only, but a hobby that I very much enjoy. I have done a lot of traditional woodworking such as furniture, cabinets and such. Lately, I am playing around with some different things. I recently built a cedar strip canoe. It turned out pretty good and if I can figure out how to do it, I will post some pictures. Now that the boat is done, I am working on hand-made paddles. I have also been fooling around with rustic furniture building. In northern Wisconsin there is a fair amount of beaver-chewed wood to be found and I made a few furniture pieces out of that.

My serious woodworking is on hold for a year or two as the house we are in does not have adequate space to set up my entire shop. Canoe paddles will have to fill my need for making sawdust for awhile.

In addition to woodworking, I enjoy wilderness camping, bird hunting with my hunting buddy Bomber, spending time with family members, and cheering for the Green Bay Packers!!!!!!!

I am looking forward to meeting (even if only online) the fellow members. If there are any boat builders or rustic furniture folks out there, it would be good to connect and compare notes.

Attachments

• done6.jpg
    done6.jpg
    191.9 KB · Views: 192
  • done4.jpg
    done4.jpg
    170.9 KB · Views: 189
  • stand2.jpg
    stand2.jpg
    139.6 KB · Views: 183
  • table2a.jpg
    table2a.jpg
    240.7 KB · Views: 180

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Welcome Larry, thanks for the great intro and excellent pictures. I am glad that you could join us, and look forward to your input in the forums. I don't make rustic furniture but have always wanted to try my hand at it. I have been seriously eying a Vertas log tenon cutter to get me started.
Dave:)

J

jeff...