New Member Introduction - Anirban

Status
Not open for further replies.

manirban73

New User
Anirban
Hi, my name is Anirban, and I like long walks on the beach.. and beautiful sunsets... Oh.. sorry.. wrong intro (that's my match.com opening).... (that's a JOKE....:gar-Bi)

So, my name is Anirban, and I'm a complete newcomer to the area of woodworking. Really long story short, I am originally from India, but have grown up in western Pennsylvania, and lived all over the US before coming to the Durham area this May (and, hopefully, will be making NC my home for a long time to come).

The reason why I'm here (and I'll be posting something in the Custom Projects section), is that I'm a student of Indian classical music, and I play a 23 stringed fretless lute called a sarod. My sarod, which I lugged here from India in 2001, is made of a wood called Toon in India, which, as I understand, is Indian Mahogany. Anyways, in a fit of maddness, I've gutted the whole instrument, and I'm in the process of putting everything back together again, but better.

Here is a nice picture of a sarod -
http://www.batesville.k12.in.us/bms/Staff/enneking/images/sarod player.jpg

So, this is a project that requires a LOT of woodworking, from bowl carving, to shaping, reaming, making pegs on a lathe, staining, oiling, etc...

I'm glad to be here, and will be bugging folks here and there for advice. A quick search has already helped me answer my first question, which was, - where do I get my hands on some mahogany. I need to make a brace for the inside of my instrument.

If you have any questions about this instrument or the work that I'm about to start on, please dont' hesitate to email me.

Thanks,

Anirban

TracyP

Administrator , Forum Moderator
Tracy
Welcome to the site, it is great to have you here. Feel free to ask for and also to give advise. Keep us updated and show us pictures as often as possible.

Canuck

Wayne
Corporate Member