New Member in Chatham County

Status
Not open for further replies.

adowden

Amy
Corporate Member
Hi! I am Amy Dowden. I have been in the Raleigh area since I attended NC State in 1990. I have a Materials Science and Engineering degree and worked as a Metallurgist for three years in R&D. I then went back to State for a teaching degree and fell in love with my first woodworking class while getting a tech education minor. Since then I have been inheriting my father-in-law's hand-me-down equipment when he upgrades.

I have been doing hobby woodworking for about eight years, and now I am considering starting a custom business. I have two young girls so my time is somewhat limited, but what free time I have, I choose to be woodworking. We are in the process of building a workshop, and I am so excited about not having to work out of half of a garage.

I am so excited to have stumbled upon this forum. I have already enjoyed many postings and pictures.

NCPete

New User
Pete Davio
Thanks Amy! It is great to hear from you! as you have acknowledged, this is a great forum! Welcome, and enjoy!

D L Ames

New User
D L Ames
Amy, welcome to NCWW. I am glad you stumbled across us and elected to join us here. I believe you will find your time spent here both informative and enjoyable. We have a great bunch of folks here to answer questions, offer advice and even offer assistance when needed. We would love to see some pix of your shop you are building as well as any projects you have completed.

D L

Last edited:

b4man

New User
Barbara
Welcome Amy! I know you will enjoy being here and there is so much information and help available for the asking. I look forward to your input and progress on your new shop.

Barbara

clowman

Clay Lowman
Welcome to the site Amy. I started NC State in 1990 as well! In the engineering/computer side of campus. I'm glad you found us! Be sure you give us loads of pictures of your work.

M

McRabbet