New guy from Winston-Salem

Status
Not open for further replies.

James Anderson Jr

New User
James
Hey everyone, I recently came across this wonderful site when searching for woodworking related stuff. I am new to fine woodworking, however, for several years I worked as a carpenter performing home remodeling for Taylor Building in Charlotte, NC. I learned alot while working with them; I did everything from rough framing to installing hardwood flooring, to finishing sheetrock. Pretty much if it wasn't electrical, mechanical, or masonry I have had the opportunity to take part in it. During one slow summer, I even had the opportunity to work as a helper in our cabinet man's shop. That was an amazing experience.

I went off to college (bandsaw in Construction Management) and met a wonderful Winston-Salem gal, Brittny, who convinced me Winston-Salem was a great place to call home.

About 2-1/2 years ago I traded my tool belt for a position with the Forsyth County Construction Management Division. I have found that I miss the feeling of taking what appears to most as a pile of random materials and turning it into a finished product. Hence me taking interest in fine woodworking.

The apartment life isn't very conducive to this hobby. Luckily, her Grandma's companion has a modest shop space with a few tools that I am welcome to use whenever I like.

My wife has already tasked me with making her a serving tray out of red oak, finished with a rich cherry stain. I hope to get started on it soon.

-James

Trent Mason

New User
Trent Mason
Welcome to the site James. :eusa_clap:eusa_clap:eusa_clap I actually started off in woodworking and later got into construction (still do woodworking of course). In my opinion, having to very precise when doing fine woodworking makes construction seem like a walk in the park. Anyway, you've found a wonderful group of folks here and we're very happy to have you. :icon_thum

NZAPP1

New User
Nick
Welcome James