New Desk - Lots of pictures! Spalted red oak!

Status
Not open for further replies.

whitedragon

New User
whitedragon
Warning, I am relatively new to the hobby, so dont look too close at the craftsmanship or you may see all my mistakes ;)

A few months back I was in Missouri visiting some family, and in my down time keeping an eye on craigslist for good deals in the area. Sure enough, there seemed to be a great deal for quarter sawn red oak lumber a few hours out in Arkansas. It was a few hour drive, but the deal was for 450 BF for $400, so not too bad for a bunch of quarter sawn oak if it turned out to be legit.

During some downtime, I decided to take the plunge and drive out and take a look and pick it up if it all looked legit. On site, it was in fact quarter sawn, but about 50/50 regular red oak, and some spalted red oak. I've heard of other woods getting spalted, maple being the most common, but never oak. Given the price point I decided to go for it. At the very least I figured it could be used for some sort of framing of something, or have it hidden somehow.

A thousand mile drive and some splinters later, I had a stack of lumber in my garage in one of the few remaining open spaces. The wood was air drying when I bought it and according to my meter around 20-22%MC. Being resourceful, and incredibly cheap (as indicated by my will to drive a few miles for some spalted oak in the middle of nowhere AK) I decided to try and fix the problem myself.

I had an old free standing AC that doubled as a dehumidifier and decided to set it up in the garage. Given the space involved, it didn't seem to be making much progress and appeared to mostly hold back moisture in the air to a small degree, and not have much impact to the lumber. Considering its also just a compressor running 24/7, I wasn't prepared to deal with an extra $50 jump to my electric bill for the next 6 months as this stuff dried out to a lower level.