New, adventurous woodworker in Wilmington

Status
Not open for further replies.

brian_hunt

New User
Brian
Hi,

My name is Brian Hunt and I'm just starting to learn how to build furniture, ect. I've built other things before (e.g. sheds, homebrew bookshelves, ect.) but never fine woodworkings. My wife is expecting in December, and I'm in the first stages of building a cherry crib and changing table (below) for our first child (it's a girl!). Not to brag, but the wife has been very understanding of the many tool purchases in my quest to form this new hobby. What do you guys think? Awesome crib? Am I in over my head? I'm planning to take pictures/video along the way and I plan to post on the site.

ManhattanNursery_0.jpg
ManhattanNursery_0.jpg

mlzettl

Matt
Corporate Member
Welcome, Brian. Although the crib may present some challenges for the beginning woodworker, time and determination should be able to overcome any obstacles. If you are building furniture, cabinets, and other stuff for your home, friends, and family, justification of tool purchases is a no brainer, as the money saved is far in excess of the cost of tools. Following the first explanation of this fact to your wife, I would then refuse to ever discuss it again. :wink_smil A surprise gift (that you have of course made) every so often helps to silence any objections which may arise. By playing this hand correctly, it may be the only area where a husband has the final say. Don't blow it.:eusa_naug

Best of luck o the project, and we look forward to some progress photos and the completed piece.

Matt

ScottM

Scott
Staff member
Corporate Member
Welcome Brian to NCWW. Sounds like you have some serious work ahead but if yoy take your time and pay attention to detail I am sure you will be successful.

Their is another cost factor. Most of us get relaxation, enjoyment and satisfaction doing WW. That can be priceless.

Sealeveler

Tony
Corporate Member