Mounting tankless water heater to a vinyl sided building

Status
Not open for further replies.

MarkE

Mark
Corporate Member
As discussed in this thread, we are going to put in a propane tankless hot water heater.

Our house has vinyl siding and the heater we are getting is an outdoor unit.

What is the best way to attach this tankless hot water heater to the outside wall of our vinyl sided house? Do I need to cut out some of the siding and mount to the sheathing? Or just add some kind of spacers (PT pine) on top of the siding? Or maybe sink a 4x4 post into the ground and mount the heater to that?

What would you do?

Guy in Paradise

New User
Guy Belleman
Re: Mounting stuff to a vinyl sided building

I am not an expert, I just know what I have seen. You might want to explain what type of unit you have a little more.

I have lived overseas many years where tankless water heaters have been the standard for a long time. The houses are generally concrete or block and the heater is mounted right on the wall. The heaters generally run on kerosene and that tank is often on a stand so that the fuel gravity feeds to the burner.