Have 100 year old logs......

Status
Not open for further replies.

rovertcv8

New User
David Sheuring
Hi,
I am new to this sight and I love wood. However, I have acquired 6 sections of logs that are 6 feet to 12 feet long and from 30 inches to 40 inches across and is about 120 years old. This tree was an oak tree that had to be removed and I acquired it, more like saved it.
So, I want to see if anyone would like to buy some of this wood to use on projects.
I can be contacted by email.... rovertcv8@yahoo.com
I would love to see some of this to go to a great shop or 2.
I can take pictures of them if anyone is interested.
Let me know.
Cheers
David Sheuring
Lillington, NC

TracyP

Administrator , Forum Moderator
Tracy
Welcome aboard David. I'm sure someone here will want the wood. If you would please take a minute and go to the Who We Are forum and introduce yourself. It is great to have you.

Last edited:

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
Are you saying it has been 100 years since the tree was cut?

Or the tree had grown 100 years before it was cut?

When was it cut and were the ends treated to slow the drying process?

rovertcv8

New User
David Sheuring
Ok.....the tree was cut 3 days ago....and I believe that the tree is around 100 to 110 years old. From what the timber man stated, he counted the rings and came with as close to the age as possible. I can send pictures of the logs if you will give me your email.
Hope that helps
David

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
Probably make good fire wood for somebody close by. Gas is too much to haul it very far.

Most yard trees are not fit to mill into lumber.

rovertcv8

New User
David Sheuring
This was not a yard tree but one of the original oaks from Campbell University that was removed. This tree had been cared for and serviced by a tree service company for yeras. It is an awesome tree log and there are several pieces available and can cut for smaller pieces.
David

rovertcv8

New User
David Sheuring