Had an off day turning.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Threejs

New User
David
Lessons learned today.

1. It is really hard to excavate end grain!
2. While excavating end grain, things tend to fly off the lathe when you get a catch!!
3. Re-read how to cut blanks from logs BEFORE you cut up that walnut log.
4. It is a bad idea to have your thumb in the flute of a roughing gouge, when roughing in a chunk of wood.
5. Spliters of walunut on a 6" piece of wood, will stab into said thumb when a piece is turning in excess of 1020 rpm.
6. You can move your hand faster then the chunk of wood is turning, to prevent from being stabbed a second time.
7. Wives think your over reacting while getting a bandade for your thumb, when they think you have only cut yourself.
8. They look horrified when they find out you have been stabbed by a chunk of wood.

If you haven't guessed it by now, I had a rough day at the lathe. I learned alot though. ;-) And I made this small bowl. I am still new at this bowl turning thing. One thing I need to figure out, is how to avoid chuck marks on the foot of the bowl.

Other than that, the bowl is about 4-5" across, and about 3" high. The finish is oil and wax.

BTW the first bowl, with the grain oriented wrong, is in the scrap bin.

Attachments

• IMG_0044.JPG
    IMG_0044.JPG
    39.8 KB · Views: 144

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Nice looking bowl!!! End grain hollowing isn't that hard with the right tools and approach. A finger-nail ground detail gouge works very well. Any shallow fluted gouge with a lot of metal under the flute will work. Unlike face grain hollowing, you want to work from the inside out so the fibers will be supported during the cut. Picture the end of a broom, that is what the wood fibers in an end grain orientation are like.