Greetings from Durham!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mt. Gomer

New User
Travis
So I've been a lurking member for a while now. Mostly I've been coveting and dealing with irrepressible feelings of jealousy and longing. No longer! My shop is ready to go (well, not really, but almost, well, I'm getting there) so I figured it's time to start posting.

I've been a woodworker my entire life, I grew up in my father's shop. Since going off to college I've not had much opportunity. Until we moved last year my "shop" consisted of a converted 6x10 storage closet behind our townhouse that was just large enough to store my portable tools and a tiny bench. Any project was limited to something I could complete in one day. I had to have time to pull all the tools, set the up in the yard, finish everything, and clean up before it got dark. Had some nice small projects but was quite limited....

The new house had an unfinished basement. Over the last year I added a bathroom (had a pro add the hookups), a sub-panel (a single 15A circuit just wasn't gonna cut it, did this one myself) and sectioned off a quarter of it for storage. I recently acquired most of a good friend's shop machinery (unfortunately he had to give up woodworking) so things are about to get very interesting around here. My kids are a bit too young to fully appreciate it (4.5 and 2) but I'm incredibly thrilled that I'm going to be able to pass on to them the same love of woodworking (and DYIing in general) that my father passed on to me. Now I just have to find the time!!

I'm looking forward to getting to to know you all.

Travis

Canuck

Wayne
Corporate Member
Welcome to site, Travis!:eusa_danc:eusa_danc:eusa_danc

I look forward to reading your future posts and seeing some photo's of projects. With two young ones, I am sure that the project list will seem never-ending.:wsmile:

Take care,

Wayne

Dudelive

New User
Dude