Good Saw For Prepping Wood for Turning?

Status
Not open for further replies.

eyekode

New User
Salem
I have the same Q and have done a little research and this saw is very highly rated. The highest I have seen for an electric. Try amazon for a lower price.
Salem

ashley_phil

Phil Ashley
Corporate Member
why electric? i have the el cheapo poulan from lowes. it's served me well over the years.

sushinutnc

New User
Mike
I have no experience with this Makita, but thought I'd throw this out there.

After having used my father-in-law's electric chainsaw a few times, I liked it and decided to buy one myself (I don't have a gas-powered one). I bought a Remington electric saw from Home Depot or Lowes. I didn't do any research, which was very unusual for me (VERY!). It worked GREAT (well, good enough, considering what it is...) for about 3 years. Was able to EASILY take down 16-20" pine trees with it. It suddenly died after a particular job of about 30 mins of continuous use. I'm guessing I had no more than a total of about 90 mins of combined run time on it. (!!!) I checked it out online and found a HUGE number of complaints about it dying after an hour of use, etc. I took it apart and found the lead on one of the brushes had become unwelded. (Obvious design flaw when it overheats). I found a similar set of brushes from McMaster for about $5 that required a little modification with my Dremel, and I was up and running again! :eusa_danc

Now... for the more important part of the post (I really just wanted to brag that I fixed something electric and didn't just throw it out :D )....

While I was out of commission on the electric saw, I needed to finish the job I had started. I went over to Walmart to see if they had a small, cheap gas saw. I stumbled upon a Black & Decker 18V cordless saw (http://www.amazon.com/Black-Decker-CCS818-Cordless-Electric/dp/B000GIKXXU).