Glass Thickness Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Littlejon

New User
Jon
OK, so I got an idea for a shadow box for displaying my oldest son's Cub Scout badges, etc. I know what I want to make and what to make it of, but I have never used glass in a project before and don't know what size router bit to use or if a tablesaw blade width would give me enough "play". What I am planning is glass about the same thickness as picture frame glass, which I always assumed as about 1/8" thick. This box will require the glass be put in at assembly, with the back being removeable but not the glass.

Any tips on this? I was thinking about a saw blade width might do the trick, but wasn't sure.

Thanks in advance.

NCPete

New User
Pete Davio
There is an article in the most recent issue of American Woodworker (?) about glass thickness and use. 1/8 might do the trick, and I think you could get away with either running a full kerf blade through the cut twice, moving the fence 1/16 after the first cut, or using the outside cutter of a dado set...

DavidF

New User
David
If the light box is going to be horizontal as opposed to wall mount then maybe thicker glass or acrylic maybe better because you know somebody will lean on it........

Littlejon

New User
Jon
It will hang on the wall. Basically, it is just like any shadow box, but will hold his Cub Scout stuff. I was planning on getting the glass cut and asking for some scraps. Glass place is around the corner from me and they are good guys.

I didn't think about the cloth or rope in the kerf, though. That is a good idea. I want it to be a good fit and this is a first for me, so I figured there would be some trial and error!

Thanks for the tips!

DavidF

New User
David
I would consider putting the glass in a rebate with a retaining instead of a groove incase the glass ever gets broken, it will be a pane (sic) to replace it.

Littlejon

New User
Jon