G3 run out question?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ken Kimbrell

New User
Ken
A posted in another topic I'm just getting started in turning with my HF 12'' x 33-3/8''.
So far everything seems to be OK with the lathe, except for a very slight misalignment between the head and tail stock.

So, this question deals with the Nova G3-D (Delta) that I picked up at my Winston-Salem Woodworking Shop:
With the G3 chuck mounted as specified in the instruction sheet there is a very noticeable run out or wobble in the chuck. I have no way to measure the amount of the run out, but it's enough so that there is no doubt that it's doing it. Maybe even as much as a 32nd, or at least a 64th. When the drive spur is mounted that run out is not apparent.

So, is there some trick that I'm missing about the alignment of the chuck, so is it likely that it's a defective part?

Thanks... Ken.

Last edited:

Nate Davey

New User
Nate
I had problems with the insert being out on my G-3. That would be the first thing I checked. Get a cheap dial indicator from HF.

Ken Kimbrell

New User
Ken
I had problems with the insert being out on my G-3. That would be the first thing I checked. Get a cheap dial indicator from HF.

Thanks Nate.
This model has no insert, it screws directly to the spindle. If that is the cause of the out of alignment then it sounds like the whole chuck needs to be replaced?

FredP

Fred
Corporate Member
I dont have the g3 but a few years back i had a nova compact chuck. it screwed directly to the spindle. It came with a washer. If I used the washer all was well if not it wobbled. try finding a shim washer [not your run of the mill BORG washer] one that is made to use as a spacer. Any machine shop should have one. I was told it had to do with the way the spindle was made. the spacer gave a flat surface to mate with the chuck. I thought the explanation was bunk but it did make the difference. YMMV

Ken Kimbrell

New User
Ken