Father's Day gloat

Status
Not open for further replies.

DaveO

New User
DaveO
My Father's Day gifts came early today. I new that my wife was going to get me the on sale WWII thin kerf blade because she knew I wanted one and couldn't pass up a bargain. But the other stuff was a complete surprise..I didn't know my 2 year old had that much money :lol: :lol: She got me a sharpening set for my hollow chisel mortiser and a anti-fatigue mat for in front of my assembly table :eusa_danc :eusa_danc :eusa_danc

Fathersdaygloat002.jpg

I can't wait to put everything to the test tomorrow in the shop, especially the WWII. I am curious to find out how it cuts compared to my Freud combo blade that I've been using for the last several years.
Dave:)

mshel

New User
Michael Shelley
Nice haul Dad.

Let me know how the chisel sharpener works. Been looking at one but haven't made the plunge.

Mike

DaveO

New User
DaveO
The sharpening set was reviewed with high remarks on Ton Hintz site. He was pleasantly surprised at how well it tuned up his chisels. I am hoping for the same reaction.

cpowell

New User
Chuck
Wow, you really suck!

LOML won't let me open anything even though I know what she got me, or at least I think I do!

Dave, I'd also like to know what you think about the sharpener. Funny how you don't realize how dull something is until you sharpen it. :lol: Are you using the stock chisels that came with the mortiser (I am)?

The mat sounds like a great idea.

Chuck

DaveO

New User
DaveO
cpowell said:
Are you using the stock chisels that came with the mortiser (I am)?

Chuck

Yes, I am still using the stock chisels that came with my Delta mortiser. I have read that they aren't top quality and after cutting 48 mortises in QSWO my 3/8" chisel is starting to dull quickly. I will post my review as soon as I get a chance to tune it up some,

Bryan S

Bryan
Nice haul.