Working on Photography

Status
Not open for further replies.

clowman

Clay Lowman
I am working on the photographic skill. Since I have none, I figure I can go nowhere but up. Opinions welcome, both good and bad, constructive criticism also solicated. Thanks for looking

Gold sycamore Sierra:
gold_sycamore_sierra1.jpg

Sterling silver holly baron fountain:
sterling_silver_holly_baron_fountain.jpg

Gold cocobolo designer slimline:
gold_cocobolo_designer_slimline.jpg

cpowell

New User
Chuck
I'm not a photography expert but I like the middle picture the most, the top picture gets second and the bottom gets third place.

I'm not talking about the pen quality or beauty, I'm talking about what the picture says about the pen, how it shows off the product. The second picture has the best composition.

BTW, ALL the pens are beautiful.

Chuck

Dusty Sawyer

New User
David
Many of the camera's today are great for point and shoot photo's. You will 95% of the time get a nice picture. Where it gets a little bit tougher is when you care to manipulate the picture to get better results than what the pre-programmed settings the camera uses to get the "best exposure". Best exposure is a relative term in this case.

Not knowing your camera, or knowledge of the principals of photography, it is hard to get into too many specifics. However, and this a guess based upon the photo's you posted, it seems you do have the ability to modify your apperture. The larger the apperture or F-Stop, the less "field of focus" you have. In other words, F 1.4 gives you less of a range of focus than F22. The end of the pen may be out of focus at F 1.4 but not at F22. The trade-off is that it requires about 7 times more light to take an F22 shot over an F 1.4. Most of that you can make up by increasing your exposure time (use a tripod)