Wrapping a Water Heater

Status
Not open for further replies.

Douglas Robinson

Doug Robinson
Corporate Member
My water heater is in the attic of our house. It gets quite cold up there this time of year. I have a thermal blanket to wrap it in. Any advice on how to do this correctly? Anything I should be wary of? Anything to avoid? I have ben told that I should wrap it so that the blanket does not touch the floor.

Doug

cpw

Charles
Corporate Member
Doug,

I've have only done one HWH wrap so I'm no expert, but the main thing I tried to do was cut access "doors" to all of the important parts like the access panels to set the temp and replace the heating elements. I just cut a flap and then taped it back down. That way I wouldn't have to tear the wrap off to take care of any of that later on. Our last two HWHs have been gas, and very well insulated to begin with, so I haven't bothered with a wrap. The top of the unit gets a little warm but the sides stay cold even though there are gallons of piping hot water inside and our current one sits for hours without running if no one is using hot water. I decided the money and time was better spent insulating the pipe because that was where we were losing the most heat.

BSHuff

New User
Brian
How old is the water heater. Have been told that the blankets help older heaters, but the new ones are much better insulated so the 'return' on wrapping them is no where near as great as the old units. If you you touch it is is warm?

Gas/Electric? If gas make sure you are not blocking anything that would prevent the chimney from drafting.

Mt. Gomer

New User
Travis
Yeah, I'll 2nd (err 3rd, 4th?) the only wrap if it's an older model thought.... If you touch it and can't tell there's hot water in it you're probably not going to help things much by wrapping. Also agree with wrapping the pipes. That's on my to do eventually list for the basement...

Trav

Marlin

New User
Marlin