What do you guys use a drill press for?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pslamp32

New User
Peter
I'm sure this is a stupid question but, I can't think of any good reason to buy a nicer DP for woodworking. I'm very new to WW so I read alot about different tools and can't seem to find a big need for this tool. I'm trying to prioritize my shop needs. I have a Band Saw, small bench jointer, contractor's TS and am in the market for a planer. I have 2 hand me down DPs in the shop already and I never have a need to use them. I preordered a Domino and should have it April 1st or very soon after. This should take care of most of my M&T needs I hope. You see, as a noob, there are so many things you need, and with a budget I'm always weighing tools against another. I see DP tool gloats all the time. Help me understand the error of my ways! :) .

Monty

New User
Monty
Pretty much any drill press will drill a straight hole for you. If you don't use your benchtop tools then you probably won't use a larger one. No sense buying bigger until you outgrow your smaller tools.

The question is why don't you use your drill press? I use mine all the time, but your projects and your style of work may differ. The biggest advantage of a drill press is the ability to drill precisely aligned holes with reproducible results. Since you have a table to work with, you can use a fence and stops to align all your workpieces for consistent results. For angled boring, you can set the angle precisely, instead of "eyeballing" it.

The primary advantages of larger drill presses are power (won't stall with big forstner bits), quill travel (if you find yourself needing to drill through more than about 3" thick pieces of wood), and swing (if you find yourself needing to drill a precisely aligned hole in the middle of a piece of wood that's more than about 10" wide). I decided to upgrade my DP when I started having to deal with stalls and thicker pieces of wood.

DaveO

New User
DaveO