Tablesaw suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bamaboy333

New User
Ellis
Hi all, glad to be apart of the site. I have been following a couple months and decided to become a member. I have been a contractor with my dad for about 7 years now. I have always been very interested in the fine woodworking or cabinetry, trim work, and furniture building. As a general contractor I dont get much involvement in such details as they are build, just the finished product at install. We do occasionally do some of the trim ourselves but I have wanted a woodshop of my own for sometime. Well the time has finally come. I have a small one car garage 11' x 20' that will be my new work space. I dont have to worry about sharing with a car because it is never used. Obviously my first purchase should be a tablesaw but I am not sure where to start. We usually use a contractors table saw for portability and durability on the job. I am new to the craft so i dont need to go to crazy nor do i have the space too. I would like something affordable but with some power. The ones we use on site often bind up when ripping 2x4's and such. Any input would be great. Thanks in adavance and once again I am excited to be apart of the site.
Ellis

James Davis

New User
James Davis
If you are not in too big of a hurry, keep your eyes open for a used Unisaw. They are starting to show up with regularity on Craig's List. At under $1000.00 they are a heck of a deal and you will likely never have to upgrade when your skill increases. These are just my thoughts, YMMV

James

Charles Lent

Charley
Corporate Member
+1 on the Unisaw.