Split Oak Repair

Status
Not open for further replies.

BrianBDH

New User
Brian
The pulpit in our church was made from red oak by one of our members. It is stained a nice golden oak color. It is about 18 months to 2 years old. The front is a large glue-up of solid boards, probably 3/4, with a good size raised panel in the middle.

About 4-5 weeks ago, I noticed a crack in the front panel. It is in the upper right hand side where it is very obvious. It looks to me like the raised panel has expanded and caused the outer panel to split. It is not in a joint, but in the grain. It is probably 1/8 wide by 3-4 inches long.

I would like to offer a suggestion for minimizing the crack. The pulpit is built like a tank, and taking it apart is not an option. Seems to me the best option is to fill the crack with either a matching color filler, or with filler that will take stain. But I have little experience with filler, and it wasn't good in regards to taking stain.

I don't have a photo, but will try to get one today.

What would you guys suggest?

Thanks,

Brian

steviegwood

New User
Steven
I have had some success with sawdust and ca glue or any wood glue that dries clear such as titebond moulding and trim glue. You may want to even stain the sawdust first and let it dry. I would suggest trying it on a scrap first and try to re-create the problem and then repair it to see how well it blends. That is a good sized crack to fill in an obvious spot so an experiment on scrap may help. Steve

Jeff

New User
Jeff
Brian,

A pic would be very helpful. Is this going to be an on-site repair? Can you access the crack from both the front and back? Can the pulpit be laid down horizontally?