So what do I need to buy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Knot Head

New User
Kevin
Alright,

Brand new to the site, but I am told you guys will help me figure it all out. I need to put together a shop that I can do some furniture building and so on. No room to build a shop so I will have to use garage. All will be mobile for the most part. Here is what I have:

3 year old craftsman 10" compound mitre saw
brand new ryobi 10" table saw
1966 craftsman commercial router
Delta table top band saw
Reciprocating Saw
(courtesy sawduster)
floor model drill press courtesy of fellow ncwoodworker

also the standard odds and ends (ie drills, and other hand tools)

So...what else do you recommend? What brands, sizes, styles? I assume a sander, air compressor, joiner. What is absolutely necessary for a furniture builder? I am a novice, but want to have the right tools to get going the right way.

striker

New User
Stephen
Hi Kevin,

Welcome to the site. Sounds like you have the beginnings of a shop going on there. What you buy depends on what you intend to build. In general, you probably need to look at some hand tools such as planes and layout tools. A jointer and planer will make the machinery list at some point. Once you have the machinery going on dust collection comes into the picture. Brands and models like everything else in this world go from inexpensive to designer level.

I'm sure your post will get plenty of play. Spendin other peoples money
- it doesn't get any better.

Stephen

Jim Murphy

New User
Fern HollowMan
I'm sure you'll get plenty of sage advice, and I don't mean to disparage anything in your collection, but allow me to share something with which I have personal knowledge.