Shopless...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiffany

New User
Tiffany
I am new to woodworking. I have always wanted to learn, but last summer I jumped in by taking a class at Durham Tech. I made my husband take the class with me because I was a bit timid about the whole thing. Together we built our kitchen table, and I just loved making it! I am currently in graduate school trying to get a PhD which has caused several problems with trying to pick up woodworking as a hobby 1. It's hard to make the time (but I'm sure lots of you struggle with this one) and 2. I'm not really in a place in my life where I can set up a shop (no where to put one in my condo) and even if I had a place for a shop, I couldn't afford to set it up!

So, that's a little introduction for you. I am hoping to learn what I can from this forum, even though my projects will have to be small things that I can do with just my little miter saw (my only major tool) set up on my back patio!

woodArtz

New User
Bob
Hey Tiffany! Glad to decided to join us here on the forum. Lot's of us started out shopless... so I'm glad you're not letting that stop you. My wife can tell about our introduction to woodworking with a scrollsaw set up in our dining room. :gar-Bi

ptt49er

Phillip
Corporate Member
Tiffany,

You've started down a dangerous path, don't say I didn't warn you.
First, you're shopless but wanting more room...
Then you find a shop and start acquiring tools, but you will soon see that your shop is too small and need a bigger shop. It's a great cycle to get caught in ;-)

Welcome to NCWW, you'll find lots of help, experience and talent.

Please join us for our spring picnic...Here's a link to the thread.

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
Nice of you to join in. I think I saw you on the Hilsborough/Orange meet up?

I started wood working with a pocketknife, hand drill and a coping saw, so don't give up. Keep at it and the tools will come.

fsdogwood

New User
Pinwu
Welcome.