Safely terminating a live wire in the wall.

Status
Not open for further replies.

sediener

New User
Steve
I've got some under counter lighting which are direct wired. I'm planning to replace 2 single bulb fixtures which are in the corner with a single three bulb fixture (the old ones seem to be getting overheated and turn off randomly). So I have two wires hanging out of the wall and only need one.

If I cap each lead with a wire-nut and cover it with electrical tape before pushing it back through the hole, is that safe and sufficient or is there a better way to do it? I'm not planning on ripping up the wall so please don't say that's what I need to do.

thanks,
Steve

Bigdog72

New User
Geoff
I'm not an electrician but wire nuts and electric tape should be ok. The preferred method would be to have the wires terminate in a covered box, though.

Makinsawdust

New User
Robert
My guess is that would be okay if you wire nut it and stuff it back into an electrical box with a cover. I don't think I'll stuff it back into just a hole in the wall.

Matt Schnurbusch

New User
Matt
As has been said, wire nuts securely tightened and then taped off (if you like) will do it. By NEC code they must be in a box with a cover. If it were my house I wouldn't want them just "shoved" inside the wall cavity.

You can pick up an "old work" handy box and cover for less than 2 bucks, and install them in a few minutes. Then all your bases are covered.

sediener

New User
Steve
Thanks everyone... I don't think I can put a box in since the wire was actually drilled through the lower lip of the cabinet just above the tile backsplash. (an early grave would surely come if I ripped out some tiles to put in a covered box)

I think I'll just cap it off for now and maybe grab another single bulb fixture. That area will be very bright but oh well, at least I won't have to go fishing for a wire if the house gets inspected when we sell. Back to lowes...

Matt Schnurbusch

New User
Matt