Removable table legs

Status
Not open for further replies.

mike_wood

Update your profile with your name
User
My sister wants me to make a table for her. It will be largest (likely 40"X96") one I have ever built and it needs to have removable legs. All I have ever done is M&T so I have zero experience. I have looked at various ideas on the web but would like to tap the knowledge of anyone who has experience doing this.

Also, the table top will be too big for me to put the final finish on by hand - likely poly - and I have no spray capability. In anticipation of this need I would like to know of anyone in the finishing business in the Raleigh area I can get to spray on the final finish. No idea how much this would cost but I really don't have a choice.

Any help is appreciated.

KenOfCary

Ken
Staff member
Corporate Member
I have seen table legs constructed this way. Excuse the rough drawing.

-------------
| ......... |
| ..........|
| ..........|
| ........../
| ........./
----------/

You shape the leg somewhat like this where the slashes are a 45 degree angle. The skirt also has a 45 at each corner. A bolt then goes through the leg and through the 45 in the skirt and is fastened with a washer and nut. The leg is thus bolted to the skirt and the top rests upon the flat surface of the leg.

The skirt fits tight on the right side, bottom and 45 portion of the leg diagrammed above.

Usually the one's I've seen have a bolt that has screw threads into the leg and bolt threads sticking out for the nut.

Hope that's somewhat clear. If not ask questions and maybe I can clarify.

- Ken.

Joe Scharle

New User
Joe
I've used table leg mounting plates many times to good effect. I tried to cut & paste a pic, but the site doesn't accommodate that anymore. Rockler has them and the ones that sit in an apron kerf really stay tight.

KenOfCary

Ken
Staff member
Corporate Member