PVC pipe for dust collection?

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

McRabbet

This link has been in our Link Library for some time. It is a good article, Scott -- thanks for bringing it up.

Last edited by a moderator:

merrill77

Master Scrap Maker
Chris
I ran across that as well - a few years back when I was seriously researching DC systems. As an electrical engineer, I was able to follow most of the discussion.

One thing struck me about the discussion. If anyone here is enough of a gearhead to have done any serious research on how carburetors work, it is actually pretty hard to get gasoline to explode (despite what is shown on TV). The mix created by the carb has to have just the right air-to-fuel ratio in order to explode. If you've ever rebuilt or tuned a carburetor, then you know how easy it is to get a carb far enough out of adjustment that the engine won't start. And the ignition system is designed to deliver exactly the right spark. Given all that - think how much harder it must be to get sawdust to explode...without a carefully engineered ignition source!

Given the stark contrast with the odds of injury on other power tools (esp the table saw), any effort spent preventing an explosion in a home-shop DC duct is pretty much wasted, IMHO.

just my 2c
Chris

M

McRabbet

Rob, thanks for letting us know. There seems to be a problem with the library though, when I click on "link library" in your post I get a blank page.
Must be at your end -- I clicked on the quoted link in your post and opened it in a new tab just fine. I'm using IE7.

cpowell

New User
Chuck
Thanks for an interesting read on a sleet/snow/yucky weather day! :icon_thum

Despite what is written and read I'm afraid the myths will persist. But I'll run pvc one day when I get tired of flex hose and do something about it.

Chuck

RandyJ

Randy
Corporate Member
The link works for me in Firefox 3.6. Didn't try IE. Did I say how much I hate IE????:tongue2::kamahlitu:realmad: