Not fine furniture...

Status
Not open for further replies.

DaveO

New User
DaveO
But finely constructed in my opinion. My wife needed a new printer stand to replace the one I made her last year...she changes printers like socks. She has two printers, one that prints on CDs and now a new all-in-one unit that came with her new lap-top.
I decided to make this mundane project more interesting by incorporating some joinery that I have never tried before.
The top is held in place with blind sliding dovetails, made on the router table (there was a lesson learned...you can't plunge a DT bit :eusa_doh: )
I tried my hand a cutting DTs for the back support piece and ended up with ones that "will work", I could still use some practice.
The side supports are mortise and tenoned together, with the tenons cut on the BS (another first try).
The wood is Balau´ which is a tropical (Vietnam and Malaysia) hardwood, sustainable harvested, and a decent substitution for Teak. It is in the genus Shorea spp. similar to Meranti and Luana. I found it awesome to work, it made my planes and chisels seem like they were sharpened by a pro (not). I got it from my in-law's front porch re-decking project (4" T&G boards 9" long)
The finish is BLO, then a seal coat of spray shellac, finished with gloss spray lacquer, and paste wax.

Here's some pics:

Printer_stand_001.jpg

Printer_stand_002.jpg

Printer_stand_007.jpg

Printer_stand_003.jpg

And in use :-D :-D

Printer_stand_008.jpg

Thanks for looking :icon_thum

Dave:)

Last edited:

D L Ames

New User
D L Ames
Cool...........nice looking printer stand Dave.:icon_thum I like the looks of all your joinery as well as the profile you used for the bottom edge of the top.

D L

Ray Martin

New User
Ray
Dave,

You've done it again. The table is beautiful. By-the-by... I have a home office and printers, copiers, FAX, etc all sitting on top of the worst of stuff... (just in case you get the urge to make a few more of these :-D)